2009 Veterinary Awards

 Veterinarian of the Year – Dr. Jim Winsor

 The Veterinarian of the Year award is given to a member who has given much to the veterinary profession as well as to their community – a well-rounded member who is outstanding in the veterinary profession.

This year Dr. Jim Winsor was selected to receive this award.  Dr. Winsor graduated from Colorado State University.  Then, in 1983 he earned his DVM from the University of Minnesota.  He co-founded InverGroveAnimalHospital with his wife, Dr. Ann Winsor.  Jim Winsor participates in organized veterinary medicine at both the national and state levels; Dr. Winsor is a member of both the AVMA and the Theriogenology Society.  In his leadership roles with MVMA he has provided invaluable service to the state’s veterinarians.  This has included being MVMA president and serving on the Executive Board for over 5 years.  He is current co-chair of VET PAC.  He has also served on the Governmental Affairs committee and Small Animal Welfare Committee.  He has volunteered at the Surgery Suite at the State Fair, and served on the Program and Convention committee, including serving as a past program chair for the convention.  In times of need, Dr. Winsor has always stepped up to take on additional responsibilities.  His dedication and exceptional performance have impressed his fellow committee members.  One of Dr. Winsor’s favorite projects has been the annual MVMF golf event, where he excels at helping to raise funds as well as being a perennial foundation golf trophy winner. 

Congratulations Dr. Winsor as the MVMA Veterinarian of the Year.


 Outstanding Faculty Award – Dr. Margaret Root-Kustritz

 The Outstanding Faculty Award is given to a University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine faculty member who has provided outstanding service to Minnesota veterinarians; who give of their time and talent to the veterinary profession, and are dedicated contributors to organized veterinary medicine.

Dr. Margaret Root-Kustritz has been very active on the MVMA’s Student-Graduate-Faculty Relations Committee and acts as a valuable liaison between the college and the MVMA.  She has also been an active state fair volunteer and is able to share in knowledge of reproduction in many species with the public during this event.  She is an invaluable resource in small animal theriogenology for practicing veterinarians.  She has also served as a mentor to students and she remains involved with many student activities. 

Congratulations Dr. Root-Kustritz as the Outstanding Faculty Award Recipient!


 Outstanding Industry Representative Award – Nona Nesseth

This award is given to recognize an individual who has exhibited outstanding service to veterinarians and/or the MVMA. This individual should consistently provide exceptional service to Minnesota veterinarians and promote the profession through liaisons with the MVMA, veterinarians, and the profession in general. He/she does not need to be a veterinarian.

Nona Nesseth has been a strong supporter of the veterinary profession throughout her career.  She has been active in fund raising for the Minnesota Veterinary Medical Foundation and she has been a strong advocate of continuing education for veterinarians.  She has done numerous CE programs in clinics and has been a frequent moderator for MVMA seminars.  Because of her work affiliations with Virbac, Pfizer and now Boehringer Ingelheim, she has gotten to know a number of veterinarians and their staff throughout this state and is viewed as a leader and role model in her field.        

Congratulations Nona Nesseth as the Outstanding Industry Representative Award Recipient!


Veterinary Service Award – Steve Pooch

The Veterinary Service Award is given to individuals who have promoted the veterinary profession and the well-being of animals, yet not required to be veterinarians.

Steve Pooch has shared in the Miracle of Birth Center vision at the state fair.  As a state fair official, he has been an ongoing advocate of the birth center and he personally had the vision to partner with the MVMA and the FFA in the original planning of the birthing center.  He retired from the state fair in December after 37 years of service.

Congratulations Steve Pooch as the Veterinary Service Award Recipient!


Distinguished Service Award – Dr. Garry Goemann and Dr. Mike Hannon

The Distinguished Service Award is given to members who have given special service to the profession of veterinary medicine, improving the profession as a result of their service.

Dr. Garry Goemann and Dr. Mike Hannon have both been instrumental in the development and progression of the Minnesota Veterinary Medical Reserve Corps.  They have brought an enormous amount of experience and leadership to MVMRC from their roles with the AVMA Veterinary Medical Assistance Teams (VMAT).  Dr. Goemann currently serves as the commander of VMAT 5.  He also serves as the the chair of the MVMA/MVMRC Disaster Response Committee.  As a member of VMAT, Dr. Goemann has deployed to a number of disaster across the country such as Hurricane Katrina in Louisiana.  He brings experience and an understanding of federal guidelines to our Minnesota team.  He was also a team member who deployed to North Dakota during the floods last spring.  He has also been active in coordinating resources and training for neighboring states.

Dr. Hannon has served as the coordinator for the MVMRC.  He also maintains Minnesota’s Radiologic Emergency Preparedness grants and was a large part of the planning for the recent FEMA radiologic emergency drill last August.  Dr. Hannon is a member of VMAT and has also been deployed in nationally-declared disasters.  He has also been a volunteer at the MVMA’s Miracle of Birth Center at the MN state fair.

Congratulations Dr. Goemann and Dr. Hannon as the Distinguished Service Award Recipients


President’s Award – Ken Greiner

This award is selected and given by the president of the MVMA

Ken Greiner was selected by President Paul Rapnicki to receive this award for his many years of service to the MVMA and as a nine year MVMA delegate to the AVMA.  In his AVMA role, he has helped the MVMA have a strong voice in the AVMA House of Delegates and he has been instrumental in getting a number of MVMA members selected for AVMA council and committee positions.

Congratulations Dr. Greiner in receiving the President’s Award.